Purpose
To provide practical guidance and review of proposed policies affecting the safety of students, faculty, and staff that work in the laboratory environment.


General Information

The Laboratory Safety and Design Committee consists of tenured faculty, Occupational Health department staff, the university code official, and REHS staff. The committee meets between 3 - 4 times per year to discuss current laboratory safety, health, and waste management issues and to develop policies and procedures for these work activities

Member

Title

E-mail

Roger Jones, Chair

Distinguished Professor, SAS - Chemistry and Chemical Biology

r.jones@rutgers.edu

Catherine Florek

Sr. Compliance Officer, University Ethics and Compliance

catherine.florek@rutgers.edu

Bradley Hillman

Professor, SEBS - Plant Biology

bradley.hillman@rutgers.edu

Roger Lalancette

Professor, FASN - Chemistry

rogerlal@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Kate Gaioni

Director, Occupational Health

kgaioni@rci.rutgers.edu

Roger Lalancette

Professor, Chemistry - Newark

rogerlal@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Roberta Leslie

Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs

leslie@oq.rutgers.edu

Judith Neubauer

Associate Dean, RWJMS - Medicine

 neubauer@rutgers.edu

Deirdre O’Carroll

Associate Professor, SOE - Materials Science & Engineering

ocarroll@rutgers.edu

Virendra Pandey Associate Professor, NJMS – Biochemistry vnp22@njms.rutgers.edu
Assimina Pelegri Professor, SOE – mechanical & Aerospace Engineering pelegri@rutgers.edu
Milind Shah Director, Occupational Health mns42@echo.rutgers.edu
Peter Strom Professor, SEBS - Environmental Science peter.f.strom@rutgers.edu
Thekkumkat Thomas Professor, RWJMS – Medicine  thomastj@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Kirsten VanMeenen Assistant Dean, FASN kirsten.vanmeenen@rutgers.edu
Andrew Vershon Professor, Waksman Institute of Microbiology a.vershon@rutgers.edu

Contacts